Deferred Disposition & Driver's Safety Course

Deferred Disposition and Driver's Safety Course are options in which The State of Texas allows defendants to avoid a violation being reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety as a conviction.

With a plea of "guilty" or "no contest", you may be eligible for one of these two options. The eligibility and processing requirements are listed below. If you would like to submit your request for Driver's Safety Course by mail, you may submit the completed and notarized affidavit on the handout form the officer provided to you, or you may appear at the court traffic window to make your request in person. Your request for Deferred Disposition can be completed online, in person, or by mail by submitting the completed and notarized request for Deferred Disposition which can be located on the handout from the officer.

Driver's Safety Course
  • Your citation may not be for more than 24 miles per hour over the speed limit or in a construction zone/workers present.
  • CDL holders are not allowed to attend a Driver's Safety Course for dismissal of a violation.
  • Texas State Law allows you to complete a Driver's Safety Course one time in a 12-month period to dismiss a traffic citation. This time frame is calculated from the date that you completed your last driver's safety course.
  • You must pay $109, or $134 if your violation was in a school zone. This amount is for the court costs and the administrative fee. You will be responsible for the cost of obtaining your driver record from Texas Department of Public Safety, as well as the cost of a Driver's Safety Course of your choice.
  • You must submit your request with a copy of your valid Texas driver's license, current proof of insurance and payment to the Court on or before your appearance date.
  • After your request is processed you will have 90 days to submit your certificate of completion for the driver's safety course to the Court along with a certified copy of your driving record.
  • When the Court receives these documents on or before your 90th day, the citation will be dismissed with no further action or payment required.
Deferred Disposition
  • Your citation may not be for more than 24 miles over the speed limit or in a construction zone/workers present.
  • You must submit your request to the Court in person or in writing on or before your appearance date.
  • CDL holders are not allowed to dispose of a citation with this option under any circumstances.
  • You must pay the total amount of the fine and court costs plus a $50 special expense fee.
  • You may not be convicted of another moving violation in the Town of Argyle within your 90-day probationary period.
  • If you are under the age of 25 years, Texas state law requires you to attend a defensive driving course and to submit a certificate of completion within your probationary period.